All to play for at Red Star SuperBike finale


Championship leader Clint Seller

The SA SuperBike Series in association with Metzler makes its way to Red Star Raceway, near Delmas, for the final round of the 2019 championship on 25 & 26 October with both the SuperBike and SuperSport championships up for grabs.

Championship leader Clint Seller
Clint Seller leads Lance Iasaacs

The SuperBike title is a straight fight between Clint Seller (King Price Yamaha Racing R1) and Lance Isaacs (LIR/Superbets Gaming Group BMW S1000RR). The pair are separated by 18 points and, with 50 on offer, either of them could be crowned champion. Behind them, David McFadden has secured third place despite the fact that he has indicated he won’t be making the trip up to Red Star. Dylan Barnard (NPL Yamaha R1) occupies fourth on the log, ten points ahead of Bryon Bester (Hi-Tech Racing Yamaha R1) with Garrick Vlok (DCCS Coring Cutting and Sealing Yamaha R1) in sixth. Last time out Steven Odendaal spoilt his winning record when his Petra Yamaha R1 cried enough in the opening race. He will be looking to get back on the top step of the podium. Allan-Jon Venter (Lekka Racing/JHB Express Suzuki GSXR 1000), who hasn’t competed in the national series since the second round back in April, will also be back on the grid.

Blaze Baker (The Rossi Sports Bar Yamaha R6) led the way in the SuperSport class from the start of the season, but a broken motor in the second race at Killarney allowed Kewyn Snyman (Hillbilly Racing Team Yamaha R6) to take over at the top of the championship standings, albeit by just a single point. Jared Schultz (ASAP World/FFC/Brown Property Yamaha R6) will end the season in third place but is capable of running at the front of the field and could influence the championship outcome. Dino Iozzo (King Price Extreme Yamaha R6) occupies fourth place and should hold on to it although, if he has a bad weekend,  Taric van der Merwe (Hi-Tech Racing Yamaha R6) could change that.

As normal, there will be three qualifying sessions on Friday to determine grid positions for the two 10-lap races which take place on Saturday.